National Hispanic Heritage Month

National Hispanic Heritage Month recognizes the contributions of Hispanic and Latinx Americans to the United States and celebrates the Hispanic and Latinx heritage and culture. Since 1968, September 15 was chosen as the starting point for the celebration because it is the anniversary of independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. These five countries all declared independence on September 15, 1821. In addition, Mexico, Chile and Belize celebrate their independence days on September 16, September 18 and September 21, respectively.